jump to navigation

How to upload my site online? March 27, 2006

Posted by lsalama06 in Issues in Interactive Media.
trackback

The programmer who was supposed to teach me how to create a functional e-card on my site but he disappeared on me again, for the past three days I have sent him emails, called, smsed him but no response 😦 It’s really dissapointing to see how people can be very unreliable, I never expected that I would experience this in the UK. So went to Will on Friday, his advise was to read this mega over 400 pages book about FTP and PHP… I was not sure if he was serious.

Anyway, I have spent the last two days doing nothing but reading http://php.net/ it was too confusing and I still didnt understand.

Then I found out that I need a File Transfer Protocol (FTP) to upload files to my site. So I downloaded the FTP software (Cyberduck for Mac) but dont really know how to use it. The Cyberduck Help Menu is not really that helpful..especially for beginners.

All I need is to know how to make my php ecard script functional online and matches my site design!!!! is that really so difficult?

Now I have my site on dreamweaver, I have a script on php and I have an FTP file which I dont know what to do with it….now the question is how to link these files to make them work online?

I really wish someone can spare an hour to explain to me how to use FTP and upload my site online.

Comments»

1. Alaa - March 27, 2006

I’m not following the history of the topic, but I assume you have some hosting arrangment.

what you need is to upload the files to your www or public_html file on your hosting space.

I suggest you use filezilla, ftp programs are simple, they give you a split screen, one is your computer and the other will be the hosting space, you should tell the program the address, username and password that came with your hosting space, then simply drag and drop files from your computer to the hosting space.

download filezilla
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/filezilla/FileZilla_2_2_19_setup.exe?download

filezilla quick guide
http://filezilla.sourceforge.net/documentation/quickguide.htm

ftp for dummies quick guide
http://www.dummies.com/WileyCDA/DummiesArticle/id-188,subcat-BUILDING.html

2. lsalama06 - March 30, 2006

Thank you Alaa. I guess I can only use cyberduck as I am a Mac user. But I still have problems loading the file online.


Leave a Reply

