jump to navigation

Points for Volker February 17, 2006

Posted by lsalama06 in Issues in Interactive Media.
trackback

PENDING ISSUES:
1-Need to come up with a name for the website! Suggestions:
-FlashMemory
-Volker photography
-Worth1000words
……….and I am open for other suggestions ๐Ÿ™‚
2-Interface not specified, I suggest Xhtml… + FLASH introduction

3-Selling photos online will be difficult due to security issues, and it will cost for coding it and according to the survey I conducted among users its not a priority accoridng to user survey). So thought of another alternative for marketing client’s project is through developing e-card and comments sections (Volker what do you think?)

4-Accessiblity (at least all images have to be labelled in ALT Text so that blind users will be able to know what this website is about…this is based on RNIB recommendation)

5-The website will have six categories (each
categories will have five section and each section will
have 4-6 photos):

-PEOPLE
-TRANSPORTATION (4-6 photos)
-SUNSET (4-6 photos)
-CRAFTS (4-6 photos)
-DESERT (4-6 photos)
-LOCATION
-Cairo (4-6 photos)
-Alexandria (4-6 photos)
-Sharm El Sheikh (4-6 photos)
-Siwa (4-6 photos)
-Baharia (4-6 photos)

6-The menu will include:
1-About me
2-Contact me
3-Send post-card
4-View comments
Anything else Volker you would like to add?

7-I was thinking since this is more of exhibiting your art…I would like to suggest in in every photo maybe you can add a line or two about what inspired you to take this specific image..or what were the circunstances…or maybe you have a title for the photo and tell us why you named it like that….what do you thin?

Comments»

1. Joe - February 17, 2006

when you say ‘Flash introduction’ – do you mean (horror of horrors) a _splash page_? ๐Ÿ™‚

2. lsalama - February 18, 2006

Yes… its a dary challenge for me to use FLASH, lets see maybe it wont work at all….but I will have an option for users to skip it and get right to the website… Volker what do you think?

3. joe - February 18, 2006
4. lsalama - February 18, 2006

Thanks Joe for enlightening me ๐Ÿ™‚ It all just proves content does matters….Nielen’s web usability ” ….to encode meaning rather than appearance….as long as a page is coded for meaning, it is possible for alterative browsers to present that meaning in ways that are optimised for the abilities of individual usersโ€

5. Volker - February 19, 2006

Lubna,
1 – give me two days to think about a name for the page
2 – you are talking Chinese with me, please help me!!!
3 โ€“ it sounds good, but please explain me exactly how it works
4 โ€“ I think thatโ€™s Chinese again for me, please tell me more about this
5 โ€“ instead of crafts I would prefer something like moments
6 โ€“ thatโ€™s fine, can we add links ?
7 โ€“ The idea is quite well, but to be honest, sometimes I just press the button because I like the motive itself. To give a title is easy but to explain is not what I like. The observer should always have the possibility to interpret his own thoughts to the picture. But I can give a short description of the circumstances.

I hope we can discuss some issues with skype soon, now I have more time

6. lsalama - February 19, 2006

Volker,
1-Ok no problem…how about “PictureThis” ๐Ÿ™‚

2-Using Xhtml means that your website will be compatibly viewed across browsers, which means that a wider audience will be able to view your site the way you meant for them to see it. When we develop websites we always have to put into consideration our audience. Each of our audience is unique, not all of them have PC, some maybe have Apple, and not all of them view websites using explorer or netscape…and some maybe be viewing webpages through their PDA…so using Xhtml is best to reach out to everyone.

Using FLASH is fancy. It makes the site dynamic, attractive but this means compatibility might be compromised. So my suggestion is if you want to use FLASH then we can add it as an option for user to choose to turn it on or off….I will explore about about this and inform you.

3-For e-cards and comments…..you dont have to worry about programming or coding it…I am handling it from out here. Once completed I will show you how to use it. Currently, I am coming up with some ideas and suggestions on how it will look like and what elements will be included, I will post them on my next message and I will need your feedback please so that I can proceed with the coding.

4-Accessiblity: again this is to ensures that your site is viewed /used by almost everyone, within extremely broad but still reasonable limits. Bear in mind your audience can also be disabled they can be blind, deaf, mute, or motor impaired. Making a website accessible also helps to rank your site better in the search engines and its good practice of social responsibility towards your general audience ๐Ÿ™‚ So what I am suggesting here is that I will make “reasonable adjustment” – which wont take time or cost – to make a minimum accessibility function and that is to properly label all your photos. This is a backend work you dont have to worry about it…. all I need is your apprvoal.

You can view http://europa.eu.int/information_society/policy/accessibility/web/index_en.htm if you are interested to learn more about web accessibility especially in Europe.

5-Ok will add Moments instead of Crafts.

6-Yes Volker, just send me what other links you would like to add..no problem.

7-Yes this will depend on you ofcourse, but we need some kind of description next to the photo, i.e. name of location, date and maybe a one line description or a headline.

Finally as agreed today on our skype discussion: I will send you this week the size of photos I will need .

Thank you for your time.

7. Volker - February 25, 2006

Hi Lubna!

1. I am sorry, i am still searching for a title..I promise to give it to you within the “famous” nexttwo days… ๐Ÿ˜‰

2. Yoursugestion sounds well, I agree with you!

3. Everything you have to handle is fine for me… ๐Ÿ™‚

4.You have, of course, my approval. For deaf, mute, or motor impaired there is a sence, for blind it will be difficult as it is an photo page and I discussed this issue for hours with one of mine best friends who is actually blind.

5.Fine

6. I will send you all the links soon

7. ok, I will do what you wish. By the way can you send me the size of the photos, so that I can start. ( Please donยดt answer to fast, so I have an excuse…..)


Leave a Reply

