jump to navigation

Cyborg Manifesto (edited version) January 30, 2006

Posted by lsalama06 in Digital Art.
trackback

Just a few comments about what I understood from Donna Haraway’s Manifesto:
-Haraway belives that we are shifting away from individual isolation to more of a network….
My comment: I personally agree and disagree. I agree that networks are formed, but networks (community network) have been formed ages ago, so what’s new. I think what’s new is the type of network, we have now a new form of network which is vitually based. I strongly believe that people still live in isolation (just as an experiment leave the computer now and walk out on the street..try to be friendly with anyone walking by, what’s the outcome?). Bottom line people still live in isolation in the “real world”..but that might not be the case virtually.

-Harawy also gave the notion of love/hate relationship with machines.
My comment: I agree completely. I love technology, machines, computers, internet and how it facilitates my life..yet I hate it because it made me so dependent on it.

-To Haraway the modern world reality is that there is a strong relation between people and technology.
My Comment: Amin. Technology cant’ live with it, cant’ live without it (unfortunetly)

-To Harawy the world is a tangled hybrid network – natural and artificial are tangled and incorporated together.
My comment: I truely believe in that. That’s why we are in a mess. We are caught and tangled in the web (in technoweb I mean and not only the internet). We are becoming too dependent on technology/machine. It has really become so difficutl to differentiate between what is natural and what is artificial…even the food that we eat…how much in it is natural and how much is artificial? Even people are becoming artificial (women with silicon breasts, men pumping up with steriods and the list goes on). This is the sad bad reality of our world today.

And finally according to Harawy to survive in this world we need to speed on the complex realities of technoculture?
My comment: This is a complete utopian statement, and actually this will lead us to self destruction? I think the real problem is the struggle for power. Just turn on the news on TV, radio or internet and you will know what I am talking about. It’s really all about power and control. I think we should stop speeding up for a moment and think about what have we done to ourselves, to the nature and take it from there.

I dont mean to offend anyone here this is just my own personal opinion of what I read…you are free to comment and give me your feedback.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

